Wŏ bú shì yóukè

On Friday night we had the welcoming dinner for the exchange students. It was delicious. I think over the approx. ten courses my favorite dishes were the sticky rice, red bean desert, corn and fish soup, and ball of shrimp. Other dishes included: a meat platter, shrimp/celery/garlic dish, chicken, fish, and an orange for second desert. I forgot my camera. I went to sleep soon after I got back because of waking up at 5 am. Anyway.

Then on Saturday we had a touristy day around HK. We went to the peak (which is where the photo below was taken), Stanley market, and Avenue of Stars. A good touristy day.
And if you look closely in the picture, you can see the tall building from which the Batman kidnapped Lau. And so that makes 2 tall buildings that I have seen within 2 months that the Batman was in/on. But enough about the geeky stuff.

Things have started to quiet down and I’ve started to settle in. I went running yesterday for the first time and it was alright. My legs gave out before my lungs, which is a little weird. If I ever have to stop and rest, I’m usually out of breath. However, I wasn’t even breathing hard. My legs were just old-man legs, I guess. Chinese U has maps of routes around the campus, encouraging people to walk and be active. Some day I will conquer the long map (6.5km) without stopping. 6.5 kilometers may seem like a lot to you but consider the following: half of it is down a mountain. Although, the other half is UP A MOUNTAIN. As you like.

Today was my first day of class. I completely forgot to be anxious today. Maybe tomorrow I can stress about whether the other kids like me or not. I have two classes today: Marriage, Family, and Kinship (MFK) tutorial (discussion), but since we haven’t had lecture yet, we didn’t have the class. Then I had my putonghua (mandarin) class. It was pretty easy, but it was only the first day. If I practice, then I can be good-ish. Tomorrow I have the MFK lecture, a different putonghua class (more speaking-focused. The class today stresses writing and grammar), and intro to Chinese lit lecture. Can’t wait.

As for what’s coming: expect to see further updates about some stuff (I don’t know what, tho), more cultural differences I notice, my emotions during culture shock (i.e., when all the novelty feelings wear off and I’m faced with reality), some pictures of food (finally, I will bear – for your sake – the shame and anguish of being seen as nothing but a silly tourist), and probably more pictures of scenery around campus. I don’t honestly know how frequent these entries will be, since I don’t know how busy I’ll be, but I will be sure to post with a determined regularity.

Also, I’d like to thank you for your comments thus far! I may not respond to all of them, but I do read all of them, and I appreciate you reading this blog. If no one were to read it, I would concentrate on something else like metaphysics or Latin or facebook or anything not really important.

P.S. If you can’t read the title, it says, “I am not a tourist.” I think. Okbyebye

Postcards from Italy

6 thoughts on “Wŏ bú shì yóukè

  1. I am LO-VING this!! Your writing is just amazing K and I’ve been enjoying it very much. Keep it coming…I enjoy kind of knowing what/where you are and have been. If nothing just to know you’re staying safe. 🙂

  2. I also love your writing. Thank you for doing this. It was so good to hear your voice last night. You sound good and I’m thankful everything is going along smoothly. Hard work pays off and you are proof of that. I love you.

  3. Caleb, I read these everytime I see one posted on FB…and I think I’ve caught them all so far. I absolutely love reading about your adventure abroad. THANK YOU! (Now, I probably won’t post many comments as I don’t think I have anything valuable to add most of the time…but I’m definitely enjoying them and YOU.)

  4. Caleb, Bill and I feel like we are on this journey with you too! I’m taking my ‘puter over to your Grama’s house this week so she can read all about your trip to date, she will enjoy it!

    I’m sure you look no different to them than they do us when they are over here walking around with cameras and gawking at incredible sites! Enjoy it! Stay safe and thanks for the updates!

  5. Caleb, you are an amazing writer. Ryan and I are so glad that you made it to Hong Kong safely and that you are having a good time. 🙂

  6. Caleb, I could not hesitate to let you know how much I love your blog! 😉 So sorry there is no Mulan along the stairs. That would be pretty great! Um, I’m going to guess your legs giving out may have something to do with the aforementioned stairs. LOL Keep up the writing and photos… we love knowing about your adventure!

Leave a Reply

