Top x lists

Right now I’m so cold. No heat in the hostels and a chilly 9C external temperature means I’m bundled up in my coat. But, apparently, it’s snowing back home…I think I can manage the chilly 9C temps…Niente. I’m a little bored right now, so I’ll write this random post to while away the time until classes really start in. I don’t know why I’m doing this, but I’m sure I’ll look back and think, “seemed like a good idea at the time,” because right now I’m thinking, “seems like it might be remembered as a good idea.”

Favorite films:

  1. 2001: A Space Odyssey
  2. Pulp Fiction
  3. アキラ (Akira)
  4. No Country for Old Men
  5. 重慶森林 (Chungking Express)
  6. 친절한 금자씨 (Sympathy for Lady Vengeance)
  7. となりのトトロ (My Neighbor Totoro)
  8. 無間道 (Internal Affairs)
  9. Chinatown
  10. The New World

As you can see, I have a thing for foreign, silent, neo-noir crime, artistic, or otherwise well-made films. This list will probably change rather frequently, considering how I have A.D.D., but the number one movie will not change. It’s just too good to be usurped by anything (I’m convinced). Prove me wrong. Also, any title with foreign characters (#3, 5-8) refers to the original audio. I hate dubs. The exception is Cowboy Bebop.

Favorite books:

  1. The Holy Bible
  2. On the Road
  3. Lirael
  4. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
  5. Cannery Row

Favorite TV shows:

  1. Iron Chef Japan
  2. Cowboy Bebop
  3. Top Chef

Favorite music:

  1. Bebop Jazz (e.g., John Coltrane, Charlie Parker)
  2. 1960’s Brazilian Jazz (e.g., João Gilberto)
  3. Indie (…e.g., The Walkmen, Au Revoir Simone)
  4. Drum n Bass (e.g., Netksy, Dieselboy)
  5. All things electronic (F.O.O.L., Chemical Brothers, Crystal Method, Daft Punk)
  6. Fusion (dubstep?)

I like sax. A lot. I like it in the morning before breakfast. I like it quick and dirty. I like it in the shower. I like it on the drive in. I like it during lunch from the guy performing on the street corner. I like it in the movies. I like it when it wails. I like it smooth. I like the sax. Jazz has sax appeal…/This list is pretty unstable because out of all areas of media and other personal interests, this is my most prone to A.D.D. Just a few years ago I was listening to (for examples), N*Sync, then Linkin Park, then Led Zeppelin, then Daft Punk, then Animal Collective, then John Coltrane, then who knows? I like music that is good to my ears, which is mostly stuff that isn’t too popular for some reason. I like a wide variety of music, but unlike people who say that, I actually listen to a wide variety of music. I believe that music should be like your diet: as diverse as possible. But enough about music.

Favorite food items:

  1. EVOO
  2. Soups
  3. Good bread
  4. Orange vegetables (any and all!)
  5. Kimchee
  6. Quinoa
  7. Sriracha
  8. Peanut butter
  9. Black beans
  10. Mushrooms
  11. Chickpeas
  12. Fish (esp. salmon)

Someday, when I finally obtain a place of my own, these will become the foundations of my culinary style.

Favorite bible passages:

  1. Luke 15: 11-32
  2. John 4: 1-26
  3. Mark 10: 13-31, 43-45
  4. Psalm 37

Favorite languages to hear (native speakerzz):

  1. Korean
  2. French
  3. Danish
  4. Japanese
  5. Cockney English
  6. Swedish
  7. Spanish (Barça accent only, tho)

Favorite seasons:

  1. Sum sum summah
  2. Spring
  3. September autumn

Least favorite season:

  1. Winter. Bleh.

Favorite Names:

  1. ‘D’s
  2. ‘J’s
  3. ‘I’s (‘I’s, not ‘E’s
  4. ‘Y’s (yuhs, not ‘E’s)
  5. ‘F’s

Obviously these are just first letters of names. If I had to pick favorites, it would be Desmond and Dorothy for male and female, respectively. Or Jim and Jane for female and male, respectively.

Favorite activities:

  1. Gender stereotyping (or just general misogynistic antics)
  2. Making butter
  3. Getting my booze on
  4. Letting everyone know (very loudly) that I don’t have any emotional or social problems
  5. Telling fibs/being sarcastic.

So if you didn’t catch on, I just made a joke. Is funny, heh. But now for the real list:

  1. Runnin’
  2. Eatin’/cookin’ food
  3. Crackin’ jokes
  4. Travelin’
  5. Walkin’

Miscellaneous likes (not ranked):

  • Mountains
  • Wasting time
  • Cameras
  • Alpha Romeos
  • Glass > plastic
  • God
  • 2 dollar currency
  • Worn-in sweaters
  • Totoro
  • One’s own natural hair
  • Quality beards
  • Cute Asian girls (or should I start to say ‘women’ at this point in life?)
  • Chill pills, man
  • Chopsticks..spoons..no fork ‘n knife required.
  • Legit public transpo
  • Shortening words/phrases
  • Crowd weaving
  • 42
  • Radio shows
  • Knowing about stuff before it gets popular (see all of stuffwhitepeoplelike.com)
  • Cancer survivors
  • Shotgun survivors
  • Zombie survivors
  • Canada
  • Sleep
  • Feminists
  • Male feminists
  • Police detectives
  • Female police detectives
  • Nurses
  • Male nurses
  • Engineers
  • Female engineers
  • (^breaking gender stereotypes, in case you missed it ^)
  • These things: ^.^ T_T >.> Oo
  • Trains of thought
  • Spontaneity
  • Lists

These are a few of my favorite things.

And here’s a chill music vid..

4 thoughts on “Top x lists

Leave a Reply

