Photos [and then some]

And by “and then some,” I mean this introduction. Anyway, I would like to start off by saying that It has been an eventful last few days!
On Tuesday I had class aaall day, and then had dinner with a floor-mate, who then showed me around downtown some. Dinner was real good (Shanghai style: noodle soup, xiao long bao, orange chicken, other chicken, something else that was delicious). My floor-mate is also my IASP buddy, so it was a sort of “welcome to HK” dinner.
On Wednesday I only had one class, and then had dinner with 3 students who were at U of I last semester, plus a roommate, plus another student from U of I. Dinner was real good (noodle soup with various meats including chicken muscle, pork liver, pork muscle, beef muscle, a vegetable thing, shrimp ball). The liver tasted best. 食い倒れ. The soup was a little less spicy than I had hoped for (I think that other people and I underestimate my spicy-food tolerance level; my Sriracha training is paying off), but it was still delicious. Also, bubble tea! Hong Kong la! (The milk tea wasn’t as sweet as most American ones, which makes it even more delicious!) It was a sort of “welcome to HK” dinner.
I forgot to bring my camera both nights -_-”

One thing I was anticipating was what I experienced when I went to Europe in 2008. After a few days (I don’t remember exactly when) my brain started to hurt because I couldn’t understand the language. You probably don’t know this (because I think I’ve only told one person), but I almost feel obligated to listen to words that I hear. The exception is words I hear in a classroom; I can zone those out easily. But in conversations I’m involved in and ones that I overhear, I can’t help but to listen to the words. It’s quite a nuisance. Anyway, after a while in France and Germany my brain started to hurt because I was listening to the foreign languages but couldn’t comprehend them, and apparently my brain couldn’t handle the diversity. However, I have not experienced that yet. Perhaps it’s because I have an ample amount of time away from Canto, or maybe it’s because there’s a lot of English being thrown around, or perhaps it’s because Canto is so far removed from English that there is no trying to register in my brain, thus saving it from the pain and anguish of a perpetual language-headache. Boh…

But now for some pictures.

Sick.

I see so many cars here that I don’t there. Opel, Renault, Peugeot, Alpha Romeo, Daihatsu, as well as a few Porches and even an Aston Martin and a Lamborghini.
That’s all for now. Enjoy.

P.S. I experienced my first bit of food-home-sickness (the homesick feeling, but for a comfort food). Albeit, it was more like a passing craving…but I’ll still count it since I don’t know where to find the food in HK (although I’m sure I’d be able to with a bit of proper open-rice searching) and since it was for a food that reminds me of home. It was….the flavors of basil, tomato, and mozzarella. I’m not craving it now, however, so that’s good. Maybe I can search it out in HK, but I don’t really know if I can find just simple, untouched flavors that aren’t overpriced. Oh well….vvvvvvvvvvvv

Il Tricolore ‹‹Trifecta››

One thought on “Photos [and then some]

  1. I love the pictures, very artsy. The tomatoes, mozzarella, and [is that] spinach[?] looks amazing. Was that the comfort food you were craving?

Leave a Reply

