Chinese New Year

Updated!
Well I’ll just update this as I go along. I saw a parade, which was pretty much the same as any normal parade, except there was a cosplay group. I saw fireworks, which were pretty much the same as any big-city fireworks display, except they had images of rabbits. Both events showed how awesome the HK people are; any time there was something cool or exciting, there was a huge collective “waaahhh” from the crowd. Everybody…

And here’s a video of a lion dance:

I’ll add more pictures later..I’ve been taking a bunch. Aside from that, a lot of shops were either closed or had extended hours, depending on the store (clothes were more likely to be open than food or anything else). Especially in popular or touristy areas. The outlying places seemed to be closed up a bit more. Anyway, kung hei fat choi! Which means happy new year in cantonese.
———
Wah! Today is a good day. I’ve been doing too much, I think! Today I was walking around central (downtown) enjoying the alone time, walking along the quiet backstreets, savoring the vendors and the food smells. Then I stumbled upon the Peak tram (the tram that goes to the top of Victoria peak). I said “oh what’s this? a path? I’ll see where it goes.” Some time later I found myself in the best-smelling, coolest (temperature) part of Hong Kong yet! Little did I know that the path went all the way to the peak as well (perhaps I should have read the signs at the bottom?) The smell of a heavily-wooded area was AMAZING and very refreshing after strolling in the smog. The houses looked very pricey, too. But I think that had I known I was going to the peak I probably wouldn’t have ascended it. I don’t consider myself to be a hiker since I’ve never done it, but after today I’ll probably reconsider…my legs were nowhere near being tired.

And now for some CNY pics:

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Boom goes the dynamite
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
The aftermath
.
.
.
.
.
Heh. There were so many people in a mass exodus towards the subway that it tricked my camera; it couldn’t focus on one thing and subsequently the shutter stayed open.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Oh, and another thing: I was having a great hair day on Sunday AND I capitalized on the sweet deals on fruits in the campus Park ‘n Shop (grocery store). Strawberries, blueberries, almonds, grapes, bananas, among other things, were all about 70% off! Normally they have outrages prices, as in, blueberries (4.4 oz) will cost about 42 HKD = 5.3 USD, but I bought the same amount for 10 HKD = 1.2 USD. And only one was moldy! I also bought grapes and almonds, because I love fruits and I love almonds. Today was a good day indeed.

3 thoughts on “Chinese New Year

  1. Did you take that video? I’m assuming you did. I liked the percussion. One time I saw a group of maybe twenty people on the courtyard in front of Follinger who were playing traditional East Asia drums. It was amazing. I wish I knew what it was called so I could search for it. Anyway, Hong Kong seems like an amazing city. In the video I noticed a father with his young child. How fun it would be to grow up with celebrations such as Chinese New Year and be in wonder over the dragon dance. Do you know the population density of Hong Kong? Lots and lots of people I bet.

    1. Yep, I did take the video.
      Hong Kong is number 4 most dense country in the world (according to wikipedia)! But it’s because it’s a country-city. Also from wiki, it’s pop. density is 16,500 people / sq. mile, which is still pretty packed. Plus 35 million tourists a year ~

  2. Caleb, the pics are amazing and looks like you are having a great time! I think the one in the subway actually turned out pretty cool, it looks ghostly! Post a pic of you enjoying some of the things you are talking about, I’m sure your grandma and parents would love to see that you look good too! Enjoy your explorations!

Leave a Reply

