Enduro

I sold my car.

I didn’t really have anything go wrong with the car. I bought it at 32K miles, doubled the mileage, and aside from oil changes and tire rotations, there wasn’t anything. I know 64 thousand miles isn’t a lot, but it’s the trajectory. Diesel engines getting 300K+ mileage isn’t uncommon. And I just sold it.

I have no emotional attachment to the car. The offer of more money than I bought it for was too tempting to pass up, and in the end it ended up being the better choice, since now I don’t have to worry about my car at all while I’m overseas.

But what would have the car ended up doing? How far could I have driven it? That’s a question I’ll always be asking myself. What could have been. I feel like a door’s been closed and I wasn’t quite ready to close it. Oh well…I guess all that ca$h money can buy lots of tissues.

There’s something satisfying about an old car that keeps on ticking. Even if it’s a crap heap, if it gets you to and from work, school, store, where ever, that’s what really matters. But buying used is a risk, and buying new, who knows how long the computer chips can last? The golden era of analog has passed, replaced by the newer and less refined digital. Or, sort of, I mean cars still have engines powered by gas and the radiator is still a thing and who could forget the rear differential.

Around here, you see lots of old cars. Not cool ones, just old. I’ve seen more early 90’s, two-toned ford f150s than I’ve ever seen. As long as it gets you to where you’re going I guess. The mild-ish winters and dry air probably help a lot.

I don’t know if my next car will be able to be a diesel. Nowadays the only diesel vehicles in the US seem to be gigantic pick-up trucks – for the extra sensitive man. SAD.